babiesheaven

I am personally invested in this big question, as two of my newborn children have died. It is not a question that can be easily or completely answered. The bible does however give us hints and hope that these precious souls are safe with God.

King David tells us he expects to see his departed son in heaven. A son, who was conceived in adultery. Paul tells us that the children of a believer are Holy.

God is just and full of mercy, so it is hard to think that he would condemn souls that had no chance for decision, and who are unaware of sin or God himself.

  • 2 Samuel 12:23; “But now that he is dead, why should I go on fasting? Can I bring him back again? I will go to him, but he will not return to me.”

  • 1 Corinthians 7:14; “For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband. Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy.”

  • Romans 5:13; “To be sure, sin was in the world before the law was given, but sin is not charged against anyone’s account where there is no law.”

  • Romans 7:7-11; “Well then, am I suggesting that the law of God is sinful? Of course not! In fact, it was the law that showed me my sin. I would never have known that coveting is wrong if the law had not said, “You must not covet.” But sin used this command to arouse all kinds of covetous desires within me! If there were no law, sin would not have that power. At one time I lived without understanding the law. But when I learned the command not to covet, for instance, the power of sin came to life, and I died. So I discovered that the law’s commands, which were supposed to bring life, brought spiritual death instead. Sin took advantage of those commands and deceived me; it used the commands to kill me.”

What Paul seems to be saying above, is that the guilt of sin is tied to our awareness of sin. My personal belief is that children fall under this principal. A baby has no idea what sin is and does not have any capacity to either accept or reject Jesus. So I take comfort in God’s mercy and justice.

The message of the gospel is this; when we realize we are sinners, we must repent of our sins and believe in the name of Jesus, and we will be saved. Infants can do neither.

  • Acts 2:38-39; Peter replied, “Each of you must repent of your sins and turn to God, and be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. Then you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. This promise is to you, and to your children,…

  • Romana 10:9-10; If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by

Maybe you are agonizing over guilt that your baby may be a casualty of your sins. Be encouraged, he is not.

  • Deuteronomy 24:16; “Parents must not be put to death for the sins of their children, nor children for the sins of their parents. Those deserving to die must be put to death for their own crimes.

  • Ezekiel 18:19-21; “‘What?’ you ask. ‘Doesn’t the child pay for the parent’s sins?’ No! For if the child does what is just and right and keeps my decrees, that child will surely live. The person who sins is the one who will die. The child will not be punished for the parent’s sins, and the parent will not be punished for the child’s sins. Righteous people will be rewarded for their own righteous behavior, and wicked people will be punished for their own wickedness. But if wicked people turn away from all their sins and begin to obey my decrees and do what is just and right, they will surely live and not die.”

Each soul is precious to God. He has no favorites, everyone is equally loved by him.

  • 2 Peter 3:9; The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.

  • 1 Timothy 2:1-4; I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them… This is good and pleases God our Savior, who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth.

  • Romans 2:10-11; But there will be glory and honor and peace from God for all who do good—for the Jew first and also for the Gentile [everyone who is not a Jew]. For God does not show favoritism.

HOW CAN I BE SAVED?


If you enjoy or find this content interesting, or vehemently disagree with me, please comment below, hit the “LIKE”button, and the “SUBSCRIBE” button so you will be notified of more interesting or exasperating posts.

Thank you,

Robert J.