celebrity

Is your savior fortune and fame? Can security, peace and meaning be found in money, success or celebrity status?

Matthew 16:26

And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul?l Is anything worth more than your soul?

The old joke goes something like this; money can’t buy happiness but with it you can choose your misery. Well, misery is misery no matter where you find it. One misery isn’t any better than another, it’s still misery.

If you are thinking that if you only had money and or status you would be happy, you are being mislead. If this was true than Hollywood would be one of the happiest places on earth. The truth is, money, fame, success, beauty and year round summer are not the keys to happiness and contentment.

Have you convinced yourself that if only;

  • I was only better looking
  • I weighed less
  • I was rich
  • I had someone to make me happy
  • I was talented

These are all lies that could not save the celebrities below. They had all those things and still turned to drugs and suicide to end their pain.

Philippians 4:11-13

for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ,c who gives me strength.

What do you do when you have everything the world says makes you a success and you are still in pain? Often, those who have everything turn to the occult or spiritualism to fill the emptiness their possessions cannot. Only to find out they are powerless and empty too.

Isaiah 43:10

believe in me, and understand that I alone am God. There is no other God—there never has been, and there never will be. I, yes I, am the LORD, and there is no other Savior.

King Solomon, who was one the richest and wisest man who ever live. MSN.com has estimated his personal worth in today’s dollars of two trillion. He had everything the rest of us strive to attain.

  • King Solomon ruled from 970 BC to 931 BC
  • He received 25 Tons of gold annually [$1.8 billion]
  • twelve thousand cavalry horses
  • four thousand stalls for his chariots and horses
  • 700 wives
  • 300 concubines [live in mistress]

Solomon denied himself nothing. Every pleasure his eyes saw or he could imagine, he acquired. Would that make you happy? It ultimately corrupted King Solomon and he turned away from God.

Ecclesiastes 2:1-11

I said to myself, “Come on, let’s try pleasure. Let’s look for the ‘good things’ in life.” But I found that this, too, was meaningless. So I said, “Laughter is silly. What good does it do to seek pleasure?” After much thought, I decided to cheer myself with wine. And while still seeking wisdom, I clutched at foolishness. In this way, I tried to experience the only happiness most people find during their brief life in this world.

I also tried to find meaning by building huge homes for myself and by planting beautiful vineyards. I made gardens and parks, filling them with all kinds of fruit trees. I built reservoirs to collect the water to irrigate my many flourishing groves. I bought slaves, both men and women, and others were born into my household. I also owned large herds and flocks, more than any of the kings who had lived in Jerusalem before me. I collected great sums of silver and gold, the treasure of many kings and provinces. I hired wonderful singers, both men and women, and had many beautiful concubines. I had everything a man could desire!

So I became greater than all who had lived in Jerusalem before me, and my wisdom never failed me. Anything I wanted, I would take. I denied myself no pleasure. I even found great pleasure in hard work, a reward for all my labors. But as I looked at everything I had worked so hard to accomplish, it was all so meaningless—like chasing the wind. There was nothing really worthwhile anywhere.

Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

Here now is my final conclusion: Fear God and obey his commands, for this is everyone’s duty. God will judge us for everything we do, including every secret thing, whether good or bad.

Knowledge and pleasure do not bring joy, peace and meaning to life. They actually lead us away from our meaning which is repairing our relationship with God the Father. Our lives are so short, and our eternity is so long.

1 John 2:15-17

Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you.For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world. And this world is fading away, along with everything that people crave. But anyone who does what pleases God will live forever.

John 14:6

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.

HOW CAN I BE SAVED?

 

Robert J.

