knowing

The short answer is yes!

Unlike false gods, the God of heaven can be known by experience. The God who saves, is more than theology, or words on a page, or doctrine. He is alive and wanting a relationship with you.

In the following verses we see the intimacy in which a relationship with God is. The word transliterated “know” in the Greek, denotes the physical intimacy that a husband and wife have. Knowing God is more than head knowledge, or book knowledge. Something that cannot take place with a false god. A false god cannot save you, nor have a experiential relationship with you.

Strongs definition: 1097 ginṓskō – properly, to know, especially through personal experience (first-hand acquaintance). (“experientially know”) is used for example in Lk 1:34, “And Mary [a virgin] said to the angel, ‘How will this be since I do not know

John 10:27-28

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me

John 16:2-3

and the time is coming when those who kill you will think they are doing a holy service for God. This is because they have never known the Father or me.

1 Corinthians 1:20-21

So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish. Since God in his wisdom saw to it that the world would never know him through human wisdom, he has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe.

God is personally interested in our well-being, and wants us to know him. Those who think God is just in the believer’s imagination, are just choosing to ignore the evidence. Faith in God is a reasonable belief. More reasonable then believing the universe spontaneously created itself, or that life, love and consciousness sprang from non living chemicals. That is a blind hope with less foundation than those who’s faith is rooted in God.

REASONABLE BELIEF

If you want to know that God is real and will be active in your life, trust fully in what he says and test him.

Malachi 3:10

… says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!

Stepping out in faith is where we find God. When we act on what he says, that’s when we see him.

I dare to say that even if God appeared to some physically, they would still refuse his love and question his identity, as was done in Jesus day.

Matthew 12:38-40

One day some teachers of religious law and Pharisees came to Jesus and said, “Teacher, we want you to show us a miraculous sign to prove your authority.”

But Jesus replied, “Only an evil, adulterous generation would demand a miraculous sign; but the only sign I will give them is the sign of the prophet Jonah. For as Jonah was in the belly of the great fish for three days and three nights, so will the Son of Man be in the heart of the earth for three days and three nights.

THE EMPTY TOMB EVIDENCE

Some people are of the mind that they are doing God a favor by believing in him. Like the creator and judge of the universe needs to audition for them. He is our savior, we need him, he created us and is offering us eternal life or eternal darkness. Our arrogance does not impress him. On the other hand, he is at the door of our hearts, waiting to forgive us, bless us and show himself to us.

2 Samuel 14:14

Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But that is not what God desires; rather, he devises ways so that a banished person does not remain banished from him.

Jeremiah 31:3 

I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.

Many say, God has to take the first step before they will believe. He has, Jesus lived and died for us. God’s fingerprints are everywhere. Archaeology, the bible, biology and physics, all  point strongly to a designer.  He is closer than we think, we just have to be looking.

James 4:7-8

So humble yourselves before God. … Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world.

Psalm 145:18

The LORD is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth. 

Isaiah 41:10

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

God not only draws close to us, he unites with those who put their faith in him. His Spirit will come and live in us.

Romans 8:10-11

And Christ lives within you, so even though your body will die because of sin, the Spirit gives you life because you have been made right with God. The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you.

Psalm 139:7-10

I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.

I had a filthy mouth years ago. So bad that I tried several times to clean up my vocabulary because is was crude even among the crude. When I gave my life to Christ, I changed and others noticed. This was not of my doing as I had tried numerous times only to fail.

My workmates and I noticed two weeks after by commitment to Jesus, that I had stopped swearing. I also found that my sense of humor had changed and those crude, vulgar jokes I was known for, no longer were funny to me. It was then that I realized the profound change that God had made in my being. You will know it too.

God in his grace will forgive those who sincerely repent and turn to him. He knows our weakness in subduing our sinful nature. He knows we have no defenses to face the enemy that seeks to rob, kill and destroy any faith in God.

IS SATAN REAL & ACTIVE TODAY?

The God of heaven is a loving, forgiving, compassionate father, who wants an intimate relationship with you.

Psalm 103:12-18

He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west. The LORD is like a father to his children,

tender and compassionate to those who fear him. For he knows how weak we are; he remembers we are only dust.

Our days on earth are like grass; like wildflowers, we bloom and die. The wind blows, and we are gone— as though we had never been here.

But the love of the LORD remains forever with those who fear him. His salvation extends to the children’s children of those who are faithful to his covenant, of those who obey his commandments!

A relationship with God is not about being perfect. It is about trust and faith that God knows what is best for us. He alone, knows the end from the beginning and sees the big picture we cannot. He has a plan and purpose for each life. An impersonal god does not concern itself with your life, but the God who created you does.

HOW CAN I BE SAVED?

 

Robert J.

