blame

It’s not God’s fault that I misrepresent him. It’s not God’s fault that I.use his bible to benefit and enrich myself, instead of applying his word to my own life, for my correction, instruction and the betterment of others.

Romans 2:21-24

Well then, if you teach others, why don’t you teach yourself? You tell others not to steal, but do you steal? You say it is wrong to commit adultery, but do you commit adultery? You condemn idolatry, but do you use items stolen from pagan temples? You are so proud of knowing the law [bible], but you dishonor God by breaking it. No wonder the Scriptures say, “The Gentiles [everyone who are not Jews] blaspheme the name of God because of you.

God’s reputation suffers from those who claim to follow him. Too often, the problem people have with God, isn’t God, it is the people who say they are Christians. Humanity is broken, that is why Jesus had to come and why God had to give us his word. Left to ourselves, our arrogance, pride and self-indulgence overtake us.

Humanity spends much of its time trying to correct the bible, when it is us who need the correcting. Is it any wonder that because so many have so distorted the teachings of the bible, few are interest in finding out more about God?

2 Timothy 3:16-17

All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.

I don’t read a lot there about us teaching others. If we would only apply the word of God to our own lives, his Spirit would work in us and change us to be more like him. Then, people would get a clearer picture of who God is.

There are those who are following God humbly and faithfully, but because of many others, people are getting the wrong picture of God. Don’t allow your displeasure with some person’s behavior keep you from God. Don’t judge him by some broken, selfish, self-centered individual who has missed the message him or herself. We are all a work in progress and some, just flat our corrupt.

Say you were about to eat your first chocolate cake and it was really bitter. Would you say chocolate cake is awful just because the baker messed up the recipe. Chocolate cake isn’t bitter at all, it is sweat when the words in the recipe are applied correctly.

Would you hold the father of a delinquent in contempt because his child has gone his own way, disregarding, twisting or even corrupting the good teaching he received growing up? Each of us are responsible for ourselves.

Read the bible for yourself and let God speak to you. Some say there are mistakes in the bible, so they won’t read it for themselves. Don’t relying on what someone else thinks about it. Please read my blog post “Is the Bible Corrupt: Why Believe Any of it“. Please visit the “Media Resources Page” and my “YouTube Channel“. You will see that the bible is reliable and the existence of God is not a blind faith, it is more than reasonable.

Yes there may be some spelling mistakes and even a couple passages that may be under dispute, but none of the disputed passages, or spelling errors have any impact on the teachings, beliefs, doctrines or salvation messages.

Jesus lived and died for you. Without him, there is no salvation or forgiveness of sins. There is no dispute about this in the bible and it is the most important message and the reason Jesus came to us.

Acts 4:12

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.

Only faith in God can save you. You cannot earn your way into heaven. No one is good enough or can ever be good enough to make Jesus death unnecessary. Don’t miss the forest for the trees. Research the bible for yourself and invest some time to answer the question, does God really exist?

Jeremiah 29:11-14

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the LORD.

Proverbs 8:17

I love all who love me. Those who search will surely find me. 

Hebrews 11:6

… it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.

God is not hiding and he is not silent. If you sincerely look for him, he will make himself know to you.

James 4:8

Come close to God, and God will come close to you.

John 14:21

Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them. – Jesus

You may ask why doesn’t God take the first step and show himself to me? He has, his name is Jesus Christ. He has also given us his word. The bible is the history of how God has interacted with humanity over the millennia, and it will show you things about yourself only you and God know. What happens after you step out in faith and trust the Lord?

Psalms 32:6

The LORD says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over [my eye will be upon] you.

Hebrews 13:5

… For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.

God wants a relationship with  you, not a slave doing religious things for him.

Hosea 6:6

I want you to show love, not offer sacrifices. I want you to know me more than I want burnt offerings.

If you are drawn and in wonder about God right now, don’t put it off. Don’t say to yourself that you have your whole life to decide, because there may come a day when you are far from him and are no longer interested in finding out whether God is real or not. Or God forbid, something happens and you don’t get another chance. Then you will be lost for eternity.

Isaiah 55:6

Seek the LORD while you can find him. Call on him now while he is near.

James 4:14

Look here, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain town and will stay there a year. We will do business there and make a profit.” How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone.

A friend of mine was on my mind many years back. I had shared God with him years earlier but felt very strongly a need to share with him again the love God for him. I told him he does not know when his life may be demanded from him. I asked him to church and he said he may come out that Sunday, but he did not. I called him on the weekend but I could not get hold of him, So I left it alone. The verse “Now is the day of salvation” was on my mind constantly that week, but I did not urge my friend again. At the end of that week, my friend was killed in a freak accident.

If you are wondering about God today, seek him, pray to him, follow that desire to know if he is real. Don’t put him off.

2 Corinthians 6:1-2

As God’s co-workers we urge you not to receive God’s grace in vain. For he says,… I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.

HOW CAN I BE SAVED

 

Robert J.

