stop

This life, is not all there is for you. If you have entertained thoughts of suicide, please STOP! Don’t believe that ending your existence here will bring you peace where you go next. You are eternal.

Your troubles have no bearing on how much God loves you. We all experience pain and suffering in our lives but God is not far away. You may not know God, you may think he is angry with you, or  you may be angry with him. But you can know God intimately and his amazing love for you.

God has a plan for your life if you will turn to him and trust him. You also have an enemy who wants to destroy your life. His name in the bible is Satan. “Is Satan Real and active today“? Yes he is. The good news is that Jesus has overcome the world, Hell, Death and the Grave. Jesus has made a way out of our misery here on earth and in eternity.

John 16:33; “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” – Jesus

Revelation 1:18; “I am the living one. I died, but look—I am alive forever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and the grave.” – Jesus

Matthew 22:32,33; But now, as to whether there will be a resurrection of the dead—haven’t you ever read about this in the Scriptures? Long after Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob had died, God said, ‘I am the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’ So he is the God of the living, not the dead.”

We are all eternal beings. Who you are is not your physical body, you are spirit and you do not cease to exist once your body dies. You will step out of your body still conscious, into eternity. The Devil tells  you go ahead, end your life and your misery but he is a liar. Don’t listen, you are loved and cherished by God who has known you from before you were born, and he wants you to know his power, his peace and his strength.

John 8:44; “He was a murderer from the beginning. He has always hated the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, it is consistent with his character; for he is a liar and the father of lies.” – Jesus

Yes, there is pain, suffering, death and injustice in this world. It is not fair but we can overcome it through Jesus Christ. Without God, we are lost and helpless to fight the enemy of our souls who has already been defeated by Jesus. That voice whispering in your soul telling you things will be better if you end your life is not your own.

1 John 3:8; “…But the Son of God came to destroy the works of the devil.”

Revelation 1:18; “I am the living one. I died, but look—I am alive forever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and the grave.”Jesus

John 16:33; “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”Jesus

You may may be thinking that I don’t know what you are going through so why should you listen to anything I say. You are right, I don’t know your specific pain, but I do know pain. In my early teens, I watched my sister crumble when her 10 year old son died suddenly from an aspirin she gave him. I watched my wife’s heart break through my own tears, as she rocked our son in her arms until his little life slipped away. A couple of years later, I held our new born daughter in my arms as her life slowly slipped way. Both my parents have past and my closest brother died when we were young. At the writing of this blog, a good friend of mine is battling liver cancer and the doctors have said they can’t do anything.

Most people, if they have lived anytime at all, have experienced pain and suffering of some sort. Yours may seem unbearable, with no way out, but there is. Jesus is not just a name on a page, he walked this earth and is alive today. He has paid a great price so you can live too.

The temptations of suicide are lies. What is waiting for you on the other side may be far worse than what you are facing here. God can help you with what you are going through here, but once you cross over, there is no turning back if you don’t know Jesus, there is no recourse.

I am not passing judgment on those who may be terminally ill and in great pain. I watched my mom suffer for the last year of her life and it was very hard to experience. What is clear in scripture is that passing on without God’s salvation gift will be far worse for far longer.

God loves you, he longs for you to know him intimately and he has provided a way for you to do so. God’s gift is not only eternal life, but help here on earth as well. His power and peace are free to anyone who asks him.

God will accept you just the way you are. You don’t have to clean up your life. The fact is you can’t, none of us can.  We accept God’s provision for us and he cleans us up from the inside out. It is his spirit in us who does the heavy lifting for us. He frees us of what we can not free ourselves from.

Romans 8:31-34 ; “What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t he also give us everything else? Who dares accuse us whom God has chosen for his own? No one—for God himself has given us right standing with himself. Who then will condemn us? No one—for Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us, and he is sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand, pleading for us.

The apostle Paul wrote that. These are not just words on a page from a theologian writing his term paper. Paul lived those words. Below, he describes some of the hardships he suffered in his life. After establishing the Corinthian church, some people turned on him, people who were supposed to have his back.

2 Corinthians 11:23-27 ; “but I have served him far more! I have worked harder, been put in prison more often, been whipped times without number, and faced death again and again. Five different times the Jewish leaders gave me thirty-nine lashes. Three times I was beaten with rods. Once I was stoned. Three times I was shipwrecked. Once I spent a whole night and a day adrift at sea. I have traveled on many long journeys. I have faced danger from rivers and from robbers. I have faced danger from my own people, the Jews, as well as from the Gentiles. I have faced danger in the cities, in the deserts, and on the seas. And I have faced danger from men who claim to be believers but are not. I have worked hard and long, enduring many sleepless nights. I have been hungry and thirsty and have often gone without food. I have shivered in the cold, without enough clothing to keep me warm.”

In all Paul’s hardships, he was convinced that nothing can separate us from God’s love and I agree after walking with the Lord for 24 years.

Romans 8:35-39; “Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death? … No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Matthew 11:28-30; “Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” – Jesus

HOW CAN I BE SAVED?

RESOURCES PAGE [Apps books, videos podcasts, websites]

INSPIRATIONAL [Music Videos]

Robert J.

 

