goddisappointment

 

God is not disappointed in you, he loves you with a love we can hardly understand. He made you with a purpose and is constantly urging you to come back to him so he can transform your life, and give you meaning that reaches to all eternity. You may or may not know him, but he knows you and wants you to know him.

Be encouraged!

2 Samuel 14:14; “Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But that is not what God desires; rather, he devises ways so that a banished person does not remain banished from him.”

Psalms 27:10; “Even if my father and mother abandon me, the LORD will hold me close.”

Hebrews 10:5; “For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you”

2 Timothy 2:13; “If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.”

I have done and said some pretty despicable things in my life, even while claiming to be a follower of Jesus Christ. I have brought shame to the name of Jesus in the eyes of others with things I have said, and things I have done. There is a scripture that say, and I paraphrase, because of you the name of God is blasphemed. Christians are not perfect people and we are subject to the same wants, desires, appetites and emotions as before we believed. The difference now is we Jesus has given us the freedom to go his way and not our old way, yet often we don’t.

There have been times of great discouragement over my life and I have like many, acted out, or lashed out with one behavior or another that has left me in regret. I am learning finally, that my source of comfort has to be the Lord and him alone. Maybe you have felt like I have, or maybe you don’t know the Lord and think he could never love you after the things you have done and said in your life.

Matthew 18:21,22; “Then Peter came up and said to him, “Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times.”

This does not give one license to keep offending for God knows our hearts and that kind of hypocrisy will be dealt with. But, if you are truly struggling in an area, forgiveness is available. God’s correction, his discipline leads to repentance and a change in behavior or attitude. Our enemy, Satan, accuses and condemns us to keep us down, keep us thinking we are failures. He plays on our feelings which tell us we are no good.

Let me tell you that is not true. The bible is our rock, our anchor for truth, why? Because emotions and feelings are so easily affected that they carry us away to places we don’t want to go, or convince us of things that are not true. The bible however, states God’s truth and I can accept those truths even though my feelings are telling me something quite different.

Revelation 12:10; “For the accuser of our brothers and sisters has been thrown down to earth— the one who accuses them before our God day and night.”

1 John 3:20; “Even if we feel guilty, God is greater than our feelings, and he knows everything.”

Romans 8:1; “Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”

This is comforting news for all of us. God knows everything. He knows everything we have done and everything we will do and yet he still calls us to trust and believe in him. He loves us despite ourselves. If you think God couldn’t love you, you are mistaken, he always has.

Psalm 103:12:14; “He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west. The LORD is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him. For he knows how weak we are; he remembers we are only dust.”

Romans 5:8-11; “But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. And since we have been made right in God’s sight by the blood of Christ, he will certainly save us from God’s condemnation.. For since our friendship with God was restored by the death of his Son while we were still his enemies, we will certainly be saved through the life of his Son. So now we can rejoice in our wonderful new relationship with God because our Lord Jesus Christ has made us friends of God.”

God looks at our hearts, our potential, not our deeds before we come to him. There is no sin humankind can commit that Jesus sacrifice does not cover. There is hope for even the ones who feel the most unworthy, the most hopeless.

Luke 18:10-14; “Two men went to the Temple to pray. One was a Pharisee, and the other was a despised tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed this prayer: ‘I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector! I fast twice a week, and I give you a tenth of my income.’

“But the tax collector stood at a distance and dared not even lift his eyes to heaven as he prayed. Instead, he beat his chest in sorrow, saying, ‘O God, be merciful to me, for I am a sinner.’ I tell you, this sinner, not the Pharisee, returned home justified before God.”

Paul severely persecuted the early church, even to the point of standing by while Christians were murdered. If anyone of us is deserving of a guilty conscience it was Paul.

1 Timothy 1:15,16; “This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all. But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.”

King David, fell in lust with Bathsheba, another man’s wife and got her pregnant. After trying unsuccessfully to cover it up, he sent her husband to the front lines of a battle so he may be killed. He was.

2 Samuel Chapter 11; David’s adultery with Bathsheba and arranges the death of her husband

Then there is Peter, who denied knowing Jesus, even to the point of calling down a curse upon himself.

Matthew 26:74; “Peter swore, “A curse on me if I’m lying—I don’t know the man!”

These examples are not momentary lapses in judgement, Paul may have been acting in ignorance, but he was an expert in the scriptures and should have recognized the messiah when he came. David was in full willful rebellion for some time. In ancient Israel, adultery and murder were punishable by death. In Peter’s case, scripture says if you deny me [Jesus] I will deny you before my father. What did God think of these men who committed these grievous actions?

DAVID:

Acts 13:22; “But God removed Saul and replaced him with David, a man about whom God said, ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart.”

PAUL:

Became a leader of the church as God called him to preach the Gospel to the Gentiles [everyone who were not Jews] God protected him, saved his life many times, and many theologians believe he was raised from the dead when he was stoned and dragged out of the city.

PETER:

 When Jesus was resurrected, a man dressed in white told the woman to tell the disciples “and Peter” that he [Jesus] will be in Galilee. Could it have been Jesus was concerned about Peter’s guilty conscience?

Mark 16:7; “Now go and tell his disciples, including Peter”

John 21:15; “After breakfast Jesus asked Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?” “Yes, Lord,” Peter replied, “you know I love you.”

“Then feed my lambs,”

Peter was restored by Jesus in front of the other apostles and Paul was given the job to feed the Gentiles.

ORDINARY PEOPLE

The bible is full of misfits and malcontents just like us, real people with flaws and scars no different than you and me. They were not worthy of God’s forgiveness and neither are we. That is the great news, but it is by his tremendous love and grace that he gives us his forgiveness anyways, to all who trust and believe in him.

God sees your heart and your potential, he has a plan for each of our lives if we will only listen and respond. You are not good enough is what rings in your ears as Satan condemns. I say, that is right, then I thank God for his goodness and grace.

There is love and forgiveness for all who call on the name of Jesus.

Romans 8:29,30; “For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And having chosen them, he called them to come to him. And having called them, he gave them right standing with himself. And having given them right standing, he gave them his glory.”

  1. God knew everything you would do before you were born
  2. God called you, you did not seek him out
  3. God justified us himself [Jesus sacrifice] while we were still his enemies
  4. He changes us from the inside out, by his Spirit.

Romans 8:1

“So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus.”

Robert J.

