marters2

There are 7 billion people on the planet today. The mortality rate globally is an estimated 8 deaths for every 1000 people. This means an estimated  56,000,000 people will pass from this earth in 2017, or roughly 153,000 people each day. There are a lot of people wandering what comes next, after this life. Maybe you are one of them. If  you are, may I suggest you have not happened on this blog by chance.

There is a God in Heaven who loves you and wants you to know him.

I have a friend who is 60 years old dying of liver cancer and another friend who’s father, in his 60’s was just diagnosed with cancer too. If that was not enough, another friends daughter in her 30’s has just found a tumor on her pituitary gland. This sound very grim but they all have one thing in common, hope.

These lives ours are are often too short. If you ask an elderly person though, they will also say that life goes quickly. I am reminded of a song called “Don’t Blink” by Kenny Chesney.

The good news and the great hope is that this life is not the end. We are all eternal and God has a plan not only for our lives here but our lives to come. All who believe in Christ will rise again with new bodies and will never die.

When we lay these bodies down for the last time, our spirit, who we are inside, rises and if we know the Lord, we go to be with him until he puts all things back the way they should be. We don’t go to sleep and we don’t go to nothingness. There is a day coming when God will give us new bodies that do not age, sickness will be gone and so will fear and pain.

Matthew 22:29-32; “Jesus replied, “Your mistake is that you don’t know the Scriptures, and you don’t know the power of God. For when the dead rise, they will neither marry nor be given in marriage. In this respect they will be like the angels in heaven.

“But now, as to whether there will be a resurrection of the dead—haven’t you ever read about this in the Scriptures? Long after Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob had died, God said, ‘I am the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’ So he is the God of the living, not the dead.” – Jesus

Philippians 1:20-24; “And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me. But for your sakes, it is better that I continue to live.”

 New Bodies

2 Corinthians 5:1-10

“For we know that when this earthly tent we live in is taken down (that is, when we die and leave this earthly body), we will have a house in heaven, an eternal body made for us by God himself and not by human hands. We grow weary in our present bodies, and we long to put on our heavenly bodies like new clothing. For we will put on heavenly bodies; we will not be spirits without bodies. While we live in these earthly bodies, we groan and sigh, but it’s not that we want to die and get rid of these bodies that clothe us. Rather, we want to put on our new bodies so that these dying bodies will be swallowed up by life. God himself has prepared us for this, and as a guarantee he has given us his Holy Spirit.

So we are always confident, even though we know that as long as we live in these bodies we are not at home with the Lord. For we live by believing and not by seeing. Yes, we are fully confident, and we would rather be away from these earthly bodies, for then we will be at home with the Lord. So whether we are here in this body or away from this body, our goal is to please him. For we must all stand before Christ to be judged. We will each receive whatever we deserve for the good or evil we have done in this earthly body.”

There is hope and joy that we will continue beyond these mortal bodies. Life may be troublesome and mental or physical pain may be draining our strength, but a new life is coming for those who love God and accept his Son Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior.

John 16:33

“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

Revelation 21:1-7

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.

I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, God’s home is now among his people! He will live with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them. He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.”

And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making everything new!” And then he said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.” And he also said, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega—the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give freely from the springs of the water of life. All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God, and they will be my children.”

Romans 10:9

 “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

 

Robert J.

 

 

